Sacramento Public Library

Readalikes for Percy Jackson and the Olympians

    Anatopsis

    Anatopsis - Chris Abouzeid

    In the realm from which the Greek gods ruled the universe thousands of years ago, the immortal witch Anatopsis uncovers the true objectives of her demi-god tutor Mr. Pound and attempts to prevent him from carrying out his evil plans.

    TEEN FICTION Abouzeid, C.
    Artemis Fowl

    Artemis Fowl - Eoin Colfer

    When a twelve-year-old evil genius tries to restore his family fortune by capturing a fairy and demanding a ransom in gold, the fairies fight back with magic, technology, and a particularly nasty troll.

    TEEN FICTION Colfer, E.
    Corydon and the Island of Monsters

    Corydon and the Island of Monsters - Tobias Druitt

    Corydon, an outcast Greek boy with the leg of a goat, learns that he is part of an old prophecy and joins forces with Medusa and other "monsters" known in Greek mythology in a confrontation with mortal heroes fighting for the Olympian gods.

    TEEN FICTION Druitt, T.
    Gods of Manhattan

    Gods of Manhattan - Scott Mebus

    Rory discovers a spirit world that thrives alongside his contemporary New York City, filled with fantastical creatures and people from the city's colorful past who have become gods and goddesses and who have chosen Rory to perform a dangerous mission.

    TEEN FICTION Mebus, S.
    Fablehaven

    Fablehaven - Brandon Mull

    When Kendra and Seth go to stay at their grandparents' estate, they discover that it is a sanctuary for magical creatures and that a battle between good and evil is looming.

    TEEN FICTION Mull, B.
    The Shadow Thieves

    The Shadow Thieves - Anne Ursu

    After her cousin Zee arrives from England, Charlotte and he must set out to save humankind from denizens of the underworld, Nightmares, Death, Pain, and a really nasty guy named Phil.

    TEEN FICTION Ursu, A.
    Loki's Wolves

    Loki's Wolves - K. L. Armstrong

    Matt Thorsen is a direct descendent of the order-keeping god Thor, and his classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke are descendents of the trickster god Loki. When Ragnarok--the apocalypse--threatens, the human descendents of the gods must fight monsters to stop the end of the world.

    CHILDREN FICTION Armstrong, K.
    Joshua Dread

    Joshua Dread - Lee Bacon

    Besides being bullied, Joshua faces one more obstacle in middle school, trying to hide his identity as the son of supervillains, the Dread Duo.

    CHILDREN FICTION Bacon, Lee.
    Sea of Trolls

    Sea of Trolls - Nancy Farmer

    After Jack becomes apprenticed to a Druid bard, he and his sister Lucy are captured by Viking Berserkers and taken to the home of King Ivar the Boneless and his half-troll queen, leading Jack to undertake a vital quest to Jotunheim, home of the trolls.

    CHILDREN FICTION Farmer, N.
    The Magnificent 12: The Call

    The Magnificent 12: The Call - Michael Grant

     

     
    A seemingly average twelve-year-old learns that he is destined to gather a team of similarly gifted children to try to save the world from a nameless evil, which is threatening to reappear after having been imprisoned for three thousand years.

    CHILDREN FICTION Grant, M.
    Zeus and the Thunderbolt of Doom

    Zeus and the Thunderbolt of Doom - Joan Holub

    When ten-year-old Zeus is kidnapped, he discovers he can defend himself with a magical thunderbolt.

    CHILDREN FICTION Holub, J.
    Skulduggery Pleasant

    Skulduggery Pleasant - Derek Landy

    When Stephanie inherits her weird uncle's estate, she must join forces with Skulduggery Pleasant, a skeleton mage, to save the world from the Faceless Ones.

    CHILDREN FICTION Landy, D.
    Savvy

    Savvy - Ingrid Law

    Recounts the adventures of Mibs Beaumont, whose thirteenth birthday has revealed her "savvy"--a magical power unique to each member of her family--just as her father is injured in a terrible accident.

    CHILDREN FICTION Law, I.
    Have a Hot Time, Hades

    Have a Hot Time, Hades - Kate McMullan

    In this story with a modern twist, Hades tells his own version of how he became King of the Underworld and Zeus became King of the Gods.

    CHILDREN FICTION McMullan, K.
    Mister Monday

    Mister Monday - Garth Nix

    Arthur Penhaligon is supposed to die at a young age, but is saved by a key that is shaped like the minute hand of a clock. A man named Mister Monday will stop at nothing to get the key back.

    CHILDREN FICTION Nix, G.
    Pegasus: The Flame of Olympus

    Pegasus: The Flame of Olympus - Kate O'Hearn

    Reborn as the Flame, thirteen-year-old Emily has saved Olympus from destruction but when the gruesome Nirads begin a new invasion, Emily and her friends become entangled in the conflict as old grudges are unearthed and new enemies are discovered.

    CHILDREN FICTION O'Hearn, K.
    Gods and Warriors

    Gods and Warriors - Michelle Paver

    In the turbulent world of the Mediterranean Bronze Age, Hylas, a lowly twelve-year-old goatherd, thief, and outsider, journeys from the Greek mountains to Crete and Egypt, making allies with animals, battling tyranny, and withstanding the elemental powers of the gods of land and sea.

    CHILDREN FICTION Paver, M.
    The Thief

    The Thief - Megan Whalen Turner

    Gen flaunts his ingenuity as a thief and as the queen's thief and relishes the adventure which takes him to a remote temple of the gods where he will attempt to steal a precious stone.

    CHILDREN FICTION Turner, M.
Back to Top
Back to Top