Sacramento Public Library

Readalikes for Chris Colfer's Land of Stories

    A Tale Dark and Grimm

    A Tale Dark and Grimm - Adam Gidwitz

    Follows Hansel and Gretel as they walk out of their own story and into eight more tales, encountering such wicked creatures as witches, along with kindly strangers and other helpful folk. Based in part on the Grimms' fairy tales Faithful Johannes, Hansel and Gretel, The seven ravens, Brother and sister, The robber bridegroom, and The devil and his three golden hairs.

    CHILDREN FICTION Gidwitz, A. 
    Beyond the Deepwoods

    Beyond the Deepwoods - Paul Stewart & Chris Riddell

    Thirteen-year-old Twig, having always looked and felt different from his woodtroll family, learns that he is adopted and travels out of his Deepwoods home to find the place where he belongs.

    CHILDREN FICTION Stewart, P. 
    Fairy Dust and the Quest for the Egg

    Fairy Dust and the Quest for the Egg - Gail Carson Levine

     
    Prilla, the unusual new fairy in Neverland, finds her mettle, Mother Dove's wisdom, and Tinker Bell's courage tested by many trials, including a hurricane, a selfish fairy, and Captain Hook.

    CHILDREN FICTION Levine, G.
    Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel

    Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel - Megan Morrison

     
    Rapunzel believes she is the luckiest person in Tyme, because Witch tells her so, but when Jack climbs into her tower to steal an enchanted rose, he hints that Witch is not telling the whole truth and Rapunzel, driven by her anger and fear, descends to the ground for the first time.

    CHILDREN FICTION Morrison, M.
    My Very Unfairy Tale Life

    My Very Unfairy Tale Life - Anna Staniszewski

     
    Jenny, a professional adventurer, would prefer spending time with her friends over helping magical kingdoms around the universe, but soon she is given the choice to return to her normal life or go into a battle she doesn't think she can win.

    TEEN FICTION Staniszewski, A. 
    Once Upon a Marigold

    Once Upon a Marigold - Jean Ferris

     
    A young man with a mysterious past and a penchant for inventing things leaves the troll who raised him, meets an unhappy princess he has loved from afar, and discovers a plot against her and her father.

    CHILDREN FICTION Ferris, J.
    Reckless

    Reckless - Cornelia Funke

    Jacob and Will Reckless have looked out for each other ever since their father disappeared, but when Jacob discovers a magical mirror that transports him to a warring world populated by witches, giants, and ogres, he keeps it to himself until Will follows him one day, with dire consequences.

    CHILDREN FICTION Funke, C. 
    Tales from the Hood

    Tales from the Hood - Michael Buckley

    Mr. Canis, dear friend and protector of the Grimm family, is placed on trial for past crimes. Considering that he's really the Big Bad Wolf, he has a lot to answer for. It's up to Sabrina and Daphne to find evidence to save Canis--and their investigation may reveal more than they hoped.

    CHILDREN FICTION Buckley, M.
    The Emerald Atlas

    The Emerald Atlas - John Stephens

    Kate, Michael, and Emma have passed from one orphanage to another in the ten years since their parents disappeared to protect them, but now they learn that they have special powers, a prophesied quest to find a magical book, and a fearsome enemy.

    CHILDREN FICTION Stephens, J.
    The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom

    The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom - Christopher Healy

    The four princes erroneously dubbed Prince Charming and rudely marginalized in their respective fairy tales form an unlikely team when a witch threatens the whole kingdom.

    CHILDREN FICTION Healy, C. 
     
    The Isle of the Lost

    The Isle of the Lost - Melissa de la Cruz.

     
    Imprisoned on the Isle of the Lost, the teenaged children of Disney's most evil villains search for a dragon's eye--the key to true darkness and the villains' only hope of escape.

    CHILDREN FICTION De la Cruz, M.
Back to Top
Back to Top