Sacramento Public Library

Readalikes for Harry Potter

    The Iron Trial

    The Iron Trial - Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

    Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial. Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail. All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him. So he tries his best to do his worst - and fails at failing.

    CHILDREN FICTION Black, H.
    The Unwanteds

    The Unwanteds - Lisa McMann

    In a society that purges thirteen-year-olds who are creative, identical twins Aaron and Alex are separated, one to attend University while the other, supposedly Eliminated, finds himself in a wondrous place where youths hone their abilities and learn magic.

    CHILDREN FICTION McMann, L.
    Jinx

    Jinx - Sage Blackwood

    A young boy named Jinx encounters magic and danger as he grows up in the deep, dark forest known as the Urwald and discovers that the world beyond--and within--the Urwald is more complex than he could imagine.

    CHILDREN FICTION Blackwood, S.
    Pathfinder

    Pathfinder - Angie Sage

    13-year-old Alice TodHunter Moon goes in search of her friend Ferdie, who has been kidnapped by the malevolent Lady, encountering Septimus Heap, ExtraOrdinary Wizard, and awakening her own Magykal potential.

    CHILDREN FICTION Sage, A.
    Sky Raiders

    Sky Raiders - Brandon Mull

    Whisked through a portal to The Outskirts, an in-between world, sixth-grader Cole must rescue his friends and find his way back home--before his existence is forgotten.

    CHILDREN FICTION Mull, B.
    So You Want to Be a Wizard

    So You Want to Be a Wizard - Diane Duane

    Thirteen-year-old Nita, tormented by a gang of bullies because she won't fight back, finds the help she needs in a library book on wizardry which guides her into another dimension.

    CHILDREN FICTION Duane, D.
    Midnight for Charlie Bone

    Midnight for Charlie Bone - Jenny Nimmo

    Charlie Bone's life with his widowed mother and two grandmothers undergoes a dramatic change when he discovers that he can hear people in photographs talking.

    CHILDREN FICTION Nimmo, J.
    The Cabinet of Wonders

    The Cabinet of Wonders - Marie Rutkoski

    Twelve-year-old Petra, accompanied by her magical tin spider, goes to Prague hoping to retrieve the enchanted eyes the Prince of Bohemia took from her father, and is aided in her quest by a Roma boy and his sister.

    CHILDREN FICTION Rutkoski, M.
    The School for Good and Evil

    The School for Good and Evil - Soman Chainani

    Best friends Sophie and Agatha are going to the School for Good and Evil.

    CHILDREN FICTION Chainani, S.
    The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

    The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell - Chris Colfer

    hrough the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, twins Alex and Conner leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

    CHILDREN FICTION Colfer, C.
Back to Top
Back to Top