Sacramento Public Library

Readalikes for Young Fans of "Cosmos"

    On a Beam of Light

    On a Beam of Light - Jennifer Berne

    From a boy endlessly fascinated by the wonders around him, Albert Einstein ultimately grows into a man of genius recognized the world over for profoundly illuminating our understanding of the universe.

    PICTURE BOOK Berne, J.
    Infinity and Me

    Infinity and Me - Kate Hosford

    After the sight of a night sky filled with stars makes eight-year-old Uma feel very small, she asks people how they think about infinity and gets a variety of answers before realizing the comfort in knowing that some things go on forever.

    PICTURE BOOK Hosford, K.
    You Are Stardust

    You Are Stardust - Elin Kelsey

    Introduces readers to the extensive and surprising ways in which they are connected to the natural world around them.

    PICTURE BOOK Kelsey, E.
    You Are a Star!

    You Are a Star! - Michael Parker

    A young girl takes a trip from her bedroom into the sky, past the moon, and through the universe, learning that she is made of stars.

    PICTURE BOOK Parker, M.
    Stars! Stars! Stars!

    Stars! Stars! Stars! - Nancy Elizabeth Wallace

    When Minna expresses an interest in stars, her mother suggests she invite a few friends to a star party, including a special dinner, a trip to the new Star Space at the Children's Museum, and star-gazing.

    PICTURE BOOK Wallace, N.
    Beyond the Solar System: Exploring Galaxies, Black Holes, Alien Planets, and More with 21 Activities

    Beyond the Solar System: Exploring Galaxies, Black Holes, Alien Planets, and More with 21 Activities - Mary Kay Carson

    Traces the evolution of mankind's astronomical knowledge from its origins to current findings, and features educational projects, profiles of famous astronomers, and a timeline of major discoveries.

    CHILDREN 520.9 C321 2013
    Space, Stars, and the Beginning of Time: What the Hubble Telescope Saw

    Space, Stars, and the Beginning of Time: What the Hubble Telescope Saw - Elaine Scott

    Through the eye of the Hubble, the author guides readers through the evolution of the universe, investigating the deepest mysteries of the cosmos.

    CHILDREN 522.2919 S425 2011
    Recentering the Universe: The Radical Theories of Copernicus, Kepler, and Galileo

    Recentering the Universe: The Radical Theories of Copernicus, Kepler, and Galileo - Ron Miller

    Narrates how a group of five prominent scientists in the early Renaissance challenged the view that the Earth was the center of the universe, a view that was condemned by the Catholic Church and resulted in the trial and house arrest of Galileo in 1633.

    CHILDREN 523.1 M649 2014
    13 Planets: The Latest View of the Solar System

    13 Planets: The Latest View of the Solar System - David Aguilar

    First, Pluto left. Then it came back, along with Ceres and Eris...and now Haumea and MakeMake, too! Using simple text and spectacular photorealistic computer art by the author, this book profiles all 13 planets in their newly created categories - plus the sun, the Oort Cloud, comets, and other worlds being discovered. Back-of-the-book activities offer hands-on fun for budding astronomers.

    CHILDREN 523.2 A283t 2011
    Boy, Were We Wrong About the Solar System!

    Boy, Were We Wrong About the Solar System! - Kathleen Kudlinski

    Provides an examination of the solar system and the scientific theories that have changed throughout history as new discoveries have disproved old theories, including Earth being the center of the universe and Pluto being referred to as a planet.

    CHILDREN 523.2 K95 2008
    The Mysterious Universe: Supernovae, Dark Energy, and Black Holes

    The Mysterious Universe: Supernovae, Dark Energy, and Black Holes - Ellen Jackson

     
    Follow Dr. Alex Fillippenko and his High-Z Supernova Search Team to Mauna Kea volcano in Hawaii, where they will study space phenomena and look for supernovae, dying stars that explode with the power of billions of hydrogen bombs.

    CHILDREN 523.8446 J12 2008
    Super Stars: The Biggest, Hottest, Brightest, Most Explosive Stars in the Milky Way

    Super Stars: The Biggest, Hottest, Brightest, Most Explosive Stars in the Milky Way - David Aguilar

    Describes fifteen of the most unusual known stars, plus other interesting stellar objects.

    CHILDREN 523.88 A283 2010
    A Black Hole is Not a Hole

    A Black Hole is Not a Hole - Carolyn DeCristofano

    Introduces black holes, describing their physical features, how they were discovered, what causes them, and where they exist in space.

    CHILDREN 523.8875 D298 2012
    The Alien Hunter's Handbook: How to Look for Extraterrestrial Life

    The Alien Hunter's Handbook: How to Look for Extraterrestrial Life - Mark Brake

    A guide to the science behind the search for extraterrestrials, including the conditions necessary for life, where such conditions could exist, how aliens might look, and how we might be able to communicate with them.

    CHILDREN 576.839 B814 2012
    The 100 Year Starship

    The 100 Year Starship - Dr. Mae Jemison

    Discusses traveling great distances into space and studying it while living there.

    CHILDREN 629.45 J49 2013
    Sky Magic: Poems

    Sky Magic: Poems - edited by Lee Bennett Hopkins

    Renowned poet and anthologist Lee Bennett Hopkins takes readers from sunrise to sunset as he presents whimsical and witty poems that pay tribute to the sun, moon, and stars.

    CHILDREN 811.608 S629 2009
    Planet Hunter: Geoff Marcy and the Search for Other Earths

    Planet Hunter: Geoff Marcy and the Search for Other Earths - Vicki Wittenstein

    He has discovered more planets than anyone in history. In this inspiring true story, Geoff Marcy's love of space helped him overcome struggles in his studies until finally he became an astronomer.

    TEEN 523.2 M322zw 2010
    The Lives of Stars

    The Lives of Stars - Ken Croswell

    Presents information about the life cycle of the stars, describing how they are formed, the characteristics of such phenomena as red giants, white dwarfs, supernovae, star clusters, and black holes, and the possibility of life in outer space.

    TEEN 523.8 C951 2009
Back to Top
Back to Top