Sacramento Public Library

Sacramento Room Special Collections

Visit the Sacramento Room page for hours, location, and amenities. 

The Sacramento Collection
is comprehensive and supports research on Sacramento County history and life. It includes books, periodicals, maps, ephemera, postcards and photographs documenting over 150 years of Sacramento’s social, cultural, religious and political history. 

The California Collection
encompasses the history of the state with emphasis on Northern California. The collection features in-depth county histories, biographies of prominent figures in all aspects of California history, and information on the natural, cultural, and social history of the state.

The Printing and Book Arts History Collection
depicts the history of books; including printing, binding, papermaking, type design, and illustration. This collection has many examples of printing by fine presses throughout the world.

The Sacramento Area Authors Collection
includes books published by authors who have close ties to the Sacramento area.

The Sacramento Musicians and Songwriters Collection
includes published recordings by local musicians and sheet music by local composers and lyricists.

The Special Collection
consists of rare books that have been removed from general circulation over the years for preservation purposes, but are of continuing value and interest.  This collection contains first editions, items with notable illustrations, and many volumes that have been part of the library collection since it became a free public library in 1879.

The Sacramento Public Library Archives
is the records of enduring value of the Sacramento Public Library, including architectural blueprints, accession books, reports, scrapbooks, photographs, book catalogs, policies and procedures, and public relations material chronicling library history back to 1857.
Back to Top
Back to Top