Sacramento Public Library

Readalikes for Fans of Ender's Game

    Ready Player One

    Ready Player One - Ernest Cline

    Immersing himself in a mid-twenty-first-century technological virtual utopia to escape an ugly real world of famine, poverty, and disease, Wade Watts joins an increasingly violent effort to solve a series of puzzles by the virtual world's creator.

    SCIENCE FICTION Cline, E.
    Robopocalypse

    Robopocalypse - Daniel Wilson

    Two decades into the future humans are battling for their survival when a powerful AI computer goes rogue, and all the machines on earth rebel against their human controllers.

    SCIENCE FICTION Wilson, D.
    iBoy

    iBoy - Kevin Brooks

    Tom Harvey was an ordinary Londoner until an attack that caused fragments of an iPhone to be embedded in his brain, giving him incredible knowledge and power, but using that power against the gang that attacked him and a friend could have deadly consequences.

    TEEN FICTION Brooks, K.
    Little Brother

    Little Brother - Cory Doctorow

    After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, Marcus decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right.

    TEEN FICTION Doctorow, C.
    Pirate Cinema

    Pirate Cinema - Cory Doctorow

    In a near-future Britain, Trent, obsessed with making movies on his computer, joins a group of artists and activists who are trying to fight a new bill that will criminalize even more harmless internet creativity.

    TEEN FICTION Doctorow, C.
    Brain Jack

    Brain Jack - Brian Falkner

    In a near-future New York City, computer genius Sam Wilson manages to hack into the AT&T network and sets off a chain of events that have a profound effect on human activity throughout the world.

    TEEN FICTION Falkner, B.
    Black Hole Sun

    Black Hole Sun - David Gill

    On the planet Mars, sixteen-year-old Durango and his crew of mercenaries are hired by the settlers of a mining community to protect their most valuable resource from a feral band of marauders.

    TEEN FICTION Gill, D.
    When We Wake

    When We Wake - Karen Healey

    In 2027, sixteen-year-old Tegan is just like every other girl--playing the guitar, falling in love, and protesting the wrongs of the world with her friends. But then Tegan dies, waking up 100 years in the future as the unknowing first government guinea pig to be cryogenically frozen and successfully revived. Appalling secrets about her new world come to light, and Tegan must choose to either keep her head down or fight for a better future.

    TEEN FICTION Healey, K.
    Bunker 10

    Bunker 10 - J.A. Henderson

    Something is going terribly wrong at the top secret Pinewood Military Installation, and the teenage geniuses who study and work there are about to discover a horrible truth as they lead a small military force trying to retrieve data and escape before the compound self-destructs.

    TEEN FICTION Henderson, J.
    Crater

    Crater - Homer Hickam

    In the twenty-second century, sixteen-year-old Crater Trueblood, who mines the moon for Helium-3 to produce energy for a desperate, war-torn Earth, undertakes a deadly mission that could mean the difference between life and death for every inhabitant on the moon.

    TEEN FICTION Hickam, H.
    Skyship Academy: The Pearl Wars

    Skyship Academy: The Pearl Wars - Nick James

    In 2095 when a fifteen-year-old slacker discovers that he has the power to control Pearls, fragments of space debris that are a dying Earth's most important energy source, government forces work to capture him.

    TEEN FICTION James, N.
    Evil Genius

    Evil Genius - Catherine Jinks

    Child prodigy Cadel Piggot, an antisocial computer hacker, discovers his true identity when he enrolls as a first-year student at an advanced crime academy.

    TEEN FICTION Jinks, C.
    Awaken

    Awaken - Katie Kacvinsky

    In the year 2060, when people hardly ever leave the security of their houses and instead do everything online, Madeline Freeman, the daughter of the man who created the national digital school attended by all citizens, is wooed by a group of radicals who are trying to get people to "unplug."

    TEEN FICTION Kacvinsky, K.
    Insignia

    Insignia - S.J. Kincaid

    Tom, a genius at virtual reality games, is recruited by the United States Military to begin training at the Pentagon Spire as a Combatant in World War III, controlling the mechanized drones that do the actual fighting off-planet.

    TEEN FICTION Kincaid, S.
    Epic

    Epic - Conor Kostick

    On New Earth, a world based on a video role-playing game, Erik pursuades his friends to aid him in some unusual gambits in order to save Erik's father from exile and safeguard the futures of each of their families.

    TEEN FICTION Kostick, C.
    Shade's Children

    Shade's Children - Garth Nix

    In a savage postnuclear world, four young fugitives attempt to overthrow the bloodthirsty rule of the Overlords with the help of Shade, their mysterious mentor.

    TEEN FICTION Nix, G.
    Erebos

    Erebos - Ursula Poznanski

    Sixteen-year-old Nick quickly becomes addicted to the mysterious computer game Erebos, but when the game, which can manipulate its players, sends him on a dangerous mission, the line between reality and the virtual world becomes blurry.

    TEEN FICTION Poznanski, U.
    Reboot

    Reboot - Amy Tintera

    Wren rises from the dead as a Reboot and is trained as an elite crime-fighting soldier until she is given an order she refuses to follow.

    TEEN FICTION Tintera, A.
    Deadly Pink

    Deadly Pink - Vivian Vande Velde

    Grace must find a way to get her older sister out of a virtual reality RPG (role playing game)--before it is too late.

    TEEN FICTION Vande Velde, V.
Back to Top
Back to Top