Sacramento Public Library

Readalikes for Harry Potter

    Carry On

    Carry On - Rainbow Rowell

    Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who's ever been chosen. That's what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he's probably right. Half the time, Simon can't even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor's avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there's a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon's face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here -- it's their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon's infuriating nemesis didn't even bother to show up.

    TEEN FICTION Rowell, R.
    The Magicians

    The Magicians - Lev Grossman

    As a senior in high school Quentin Coldwater became preoccupied with a series of fantasy novels he read as a child, set in enchanted Fillory. After college, he is admitted into an exclusive secret society of magic where he discovers that Fillory is real. But it turns out to be much darker and more dangerous than he could have imagined as his childhood dream becomes a nightmare with a shocking truth at its heart.

    FICTION Grossman, L.    
    Akata Witch

    Akata Witch - Nnedi Okorafor

    Twelve-year-old Sunny Nwazue, an American-born albino child of Nigerian parents, moves with her family back to Nigeria, where she learns that she has latent magical powers which she and three similarly gifted friends use to catch a serial killer.

    TEEN FICTION Okorafor-Mbachu, N.
    The Rithmatist

    The Rithmatist - Brandon Sanderson

    As Wild Chalklings threaten the American Isles and Rithmatists are humanity's only defense, Joel can only watch as Rithmatist students learn the magical art that he would do anything to practice.

    TEEN FICTION Sanderson, B.
    The Alchemyst

    The Alchemyst - Michael Scott

    While working at pleasant but mundane summer jobs in San Francisco, fifteen-year-old twins, Sophie and Josh, suddenly find themselves caught up in the deadly, centuries-old struggle between rival alchemists, Nicholas Flamel and John Dee, over the possession of an ancient and powerful book holding the secret formulas for alchemy and everlasting life.

    TEEN FICTION Scott, M.
    Evil Genius

    Evil Genius - Catherine Jinks

    Child prodigy Cadel Piggot, an antisocial computer hacker, discovers his true identity when he enrolls as a first-year student at an advanced crime academy.

    TEEN FICTION Jinks, C.
    Daughter of Smoke & Bone

    Daughter of Smoke & Bone - Laini Taylor

    Seventeen-year-old Karou, a lovely, enigmatic art student in a Prague boarding school, carries a sketchbook of hideous, frightening monsters--the chimaerae who form the only family she has ever known.

    TEEN FICTION Taylor, L.
    Sabriel

    Sabriel - Garth Nix

    Sabriel, daughter of the necromancer Abhorsen, must journey into the mysterious and magical Old Kingdom to rescue her father from the Land of the Dead.

    TEEN FICTION Nix, G.
    Howl's Moving Castle

    Howl's Moving Castle - Diana Wynne Jones

    Eldest of three sisters in a land where it is considered to be a misfortune, Sophie is resigned to her fate as a hat shop apprentice until a witch turns her into an old woman and she finds herself in the castle of the greatly feared wizard Howl.

    TEEN FICTION Jones, D.
    The Ruins of Gorlan

    The Ruins of Gorlan - John Flanagan

    When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up protecting the kingdom from danger.

    TEEN FICTION Flanagan, J.
Back to Top
Back to Top