Sacramento Public Library

Readalikes for Fans of Ellen Hopkins

    Wintergirls

    Wintergirls - Laurie Halse Anderson

    Lia comes to terms with her best friend's death from anorexia as she struggles with the same disorder.

    TEEN FICTION Anderson, L.
    Tyrell

    Tyrell - Coe Booth

    Tyrell, who is living in a Bronx homeless shelter with his spaced-out mother and his younger brother, tries to avoid temptation so he does not end up in jail like his father.

    TEEN FICTION Booth, C.
    Because I Am Furniture

    Because I Am Furniture - Thalia Chaltas

    The youngest of three siblings, Anke feels both relieved and neglected that her father abuses her brother and sister but ignores her, but when she catches him with one of her friends, she finally becomes angry enough to take action.

    TEEN FICTION Chaltas, T.
    Keesha's House

    Keesha's House - Helen Frost

    Seven teens facing such problems as pregnancy, closeted homosexuality, and abuse each describe in poetic forms what caused them to leave home and where they found home again.

    TEEN FICTION Frost, H.
    Saint Iggy

    Saint Iggy - K.L. Going

    Iggy Corso, who lives in city public housing, is caught physically and spiritually between good and bad when he is kicked out of high school, goes searching for his missing mother, and causes his friend to get involved with the same dangerous drug dealer who deals to his parents.

    TEEN FICTION Going, K.
    But I Love Him

    But I Love Him - Amanda Grace

    Traces through the course of a year Ann's transformation from a happy A-student, track star, and popular senior to a solitary, abused woman whose love for the emotionally-scarred Connor has taken away everything--even herself.

    TEEN FICTION Grace, A.
    And We Stay

    And We Stay - Jenny Hubbard

    Sent to an Amherst, Massachusetts boarding school after her ex-boyfriend shoots himself, seventeen-year-old Emily expresses herself through poetry as she relives their relationship, copes with her guilt, and begins to heal.

    TEEN FICTION Hubbard, J.
    The Gospel of Winter

    The Gospel of Winter - Brendan Kiely

    Managing the challenges of his fractured family by taking Adderall, sneaking drinks, and confiding in an abusive priest, Aidan finds support from new friends including a crush, a wild girl, and a swim-team captain with his own secrets.

    TEEN FICTION Kiely, B.
    Cut

    Cut - Patricia McCormick

    While confined to a mental hospital, thirteen-year-old Callie slowly comes to understand some of the reasons behind her self-mutilation, and gradually starts to get better.

    TEEN FICTION McCormick, P.
    By the Time You Read This, I'll Be Dead

    By the Time You Read This, I'll Be Dead - Julie Anne Peters

    Daelyn Rice, who's been bullied throughout her school career and has more than once attempted suicide, again makes plans to kill herself, in spite of the persistent attempts of an unusual boy to draw her out.

    TEEN FICTION Peters, J.
    Punkzilla

    Punkzilla - Adam Rapp

    "Punkzilla" is on a mission to see his older brother "P", before "P" dies of cancer. Still buzzing from his last hit of meth, he embarks on a days-long trip from Portland, Ore. to Memphis, Tenn., writing letters to his family and friends.

    TEEN FICTION Rapp, A.
    Live Through This

    Live Through This - Mindi Scott

    From the outside, fifteen-year-old Coley Sterling's life seems imperfect but normal, but for years she has buried her shame and guilt over a relationship that crossed the line and now that she has a chance at having a real boyfriend, Reece, the lies begin to unravel.

    TEEN FICTION Scott, M.
    Stick

    Stick - Andrew Smith

    Stark "Stick" McClellan's brother has always defended him against those who tease him for his thinness and facial deformity, so when Bosten, having admitted he is gay, must leave home and their abusive parents, Stick sets out to find him.

    TEEN FICTION Smith, A.
    Can't Get There From Here

    Can't Get There From Here - Todd Strasser

    Tired of being hungry, cold, and dirty from living on the streets of New York City with a tribe of other homeless teenagers, a girl named Maybe ponders her future and longs for someone to care about her.

    TEEN FICTION Strasser, T.
    Nothing

    Nothing - Janne Teller

    When thirteen-year-old Pierre Anthon leaves school to sit in a plum tree and train for becoming part of nothing, his seventh grade classmates set out on a desperate quest for the meaning of life.

    TEEN FICTION Teller, J.
    Rules of Survival

    Rules of Survival - Nancy Werlin

    Matthew recounts his attempts, starting at a young age, to free himself and his sisters from the grip of their emotionally and physically abusive mother.

    TEEN FICTION Werlin, N.
    Glimpse

    Glimpse - Carol Lynch Williams

    Living with their mother who earns money as a prostitute, two sisters take care of each other and when the older one attempts suicide, the younger one tries to uncover the reason.

    TEEN FICTION Williams, C.
    Beneath a Meth Moon

    Beneath a Meth Moon - Jacqueline Woodson

    A young girl uses crystal meth to escape the pain of losing her mother and grandmother in Hurricane Katrina, and then struggles to get over her addiction.

    TEEN FICTION Woodson, J.
    The Burn Journals

    The Burn Journals - Brent Runyon

    Brent Runyon was fourteen years old when he set himself on fire. In this book he describes that suicide attempt and his recovery over the following year.

    TEEN 362.28092 R943 2004
Back to Top
Back to Top